I am delighted to report that today’s activities went according to plan.  I am also delighted to report that I have substantially more mokume in the billet than necessary for Sarah Beth’s ring.  I am going to roll the billet down a bit tomorrow, as it is around 2 mm thick right now, so I will actually be getting even more mileage out of it.  I was pleasantly surprised to discover that I actually have enough for 3 rings from the billet.  I am, apparently, not as good at estimating materials in a mokume billet as I need to be.  I assume that will come with practice.  The pattern is beautiful, and I am very pleased with that as well.  I put together the liner with out incident this afternoon.  I will need 55.5 mm of mokume to go around it.  Since the mokume billet is already 60 mm long and I can still roll it down a little: NO problem!….

I feel confident in predicting that Esba will be as pleased as I am with the ring……

