I spent most of today trying to work out the kinks in a design that I am going to fabricate for a jewelry trade show that is coming up.  Last year Richard won several awards at that show, so there are some high expectations.  As usual the image I see in my head doesn’t transfer to paper with pencil anywhere near as well as I would like.  I am even including the sketches I made.  Missy said she wants me to incorporate 4 construction elements: soldering, engraving, gypsy setting, and piercing.  So the basic idea is an abstract curvy shape in silver with a few stones set and some scroll work (I suppose in brass since I can’t afford anything more precious) cut and pierced and then soldered on.  We’ll see how this goes.

I want the necklace to hang at an oblique angle.  So I took super glue which turned out to be a HUGE pain in my ass and some string to try and figure out where to attach the chain to make the pendant fall the way I want it to.  I am using a piece of copper to try and figure all the mechanics out.  The super glue dispenser is extra-super-duper sensitive to even the lightest touch and so the glue got EVERYWHERE……very irritating, but I think I managed to figure out where the chain will need to attach.

We got 15 inches of snow the other day in about 24 hours.  It’s pretty chilly too.  This is more like the winter I was expecting…..

