George Van Amber was in for another round of deaf goldsmithing today.  He has finally got the lion’s head of fine silver mated to a fine silver Maltese cross (I think that is what sort of cross it is……).  He used easy solder which turned into a problem for the Aura-22 treatment they tried out today.  It is related to Keum Boo.  Basically it is Keum Boo for dummies.  Keum Boo is a korean technique of applying a thin sheet of gold to a silver object under heat and then, while keeping the piece heated, you burnish the gold onto the silver.  It looks really neat when it is done correctly.  This stuff they used today came from japan and it is like 91% 22k gold and 9% fine silver and you “paint” it on and then heat it up and it is supposed to fuse by itself to the silver.  That is a little easier said then done, as it turns out.  I shot a bunch of video that I will be editing shortly.  I probably will be posting at least 3 videos tonight of the process. 

I spent most of the rest of the time bead setting stones on the gigantor ring/pendant.  That went pretty well UNTIL the LAST half hour of the day and then everything to (expletive deleted).  When I was pushing the beads and then using the beadin tool to form the beads themselves, I managed to push the ring out of shape.  It turned into an oval and then some of the stones started falling out bacause the deformation of the rings changed the physical relationship of the beads and the stones.  I was pretty angry and I decided to just set it aside.  I was SOOOOO close to being done with it and now it is FUBARed…..SIGH……IGBOK……

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BkCmQMRQu3M&feature=youtube_gdata

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JoL589fpCH0&feature=youtube_gdata

