I spent most of the day machining a live center tube adapter from a cylinder of brass.  In order to do knurls and really anything else on the lathe with the aluminum stock that I have, I had to make a special piece to fit.  It turned out very well and it was a very edu-taining experience.  Glenn is a hoot to work around AND he is supremely knowledgeable in the machine shop millieu.  I got the adapter done around 3:00 or so and Glenn rustled up a knurler of the “fine” variety.  He showed me how to work it and I made several passes which you can see in the pictures.  I am really excited about actually starting to make hilts.  I am gonna spend tomorrow practicing various ideas that I have.  If I have time, I will take a crack at carving/engraving and stone setting on a practice section……

I am also coming up on the upload limit on wordpress for pictures.  I am not sure what to do about that since I am only halfway through the course.  I think there is an upgrade available.  I will have to look into that. 

