I began cutting up the tubes of Aluminum that I purchased on Friday today.  I am cutting off 8 inch lengths for the main housing.  That is going to leave me with 34 main bodies and 4 four inch sections to do some practice on.  Glenn said we are going to have to fabricate an endpiece for the lathe that will fit the tubing before I can start turning designs.  He is going to help me with that and he is going to teach me about knurling.  I have several designs that involve knurling to one extent or another.  We don’t have a band saw or any comparable machine saw so I have been using a hacksaw all day long.  For some reason the saw always cut to the right so I managed to get NO straight cuts.  I put the first set of tubes on the lathe (one at a time of course) and true’ed up the ends.  Some of them ended up being less than 8 inches but I am going to do as best as I can with what I have.  Glenn also said that he knows where I can get some aluminum blocks to make pommels out of and possibly blade emitters as well. 

I spent a little time on the saber forums today as well trying to get info on what all I need, electronically speaking and where I can get it.  It’s a giant maze but I think I have everything but sound pretty well figured out.  It looks like 100 bucks can get every thing but the sound board. 

That is the tough part.  Good sound boards are wicked-expensive and VERY difficult to co me by.  I may buy a few Hasbro kid sabers and rob the cheap’O soundcards from them.  That seems to be the best way to start for beginners.  That’s only 15 to 20 dollars out of pocket for each one.  A Crystal Focus board (the current state of the art board) runs 500 to 700 for the saber smith.  Not to mention how hard it is to get the opportunity to even buy one.  I would like to have my craft down pat well before I spend money like that……

Tomorrow, I hope to get everything set up and start actually doing something tangible besides just hacking away with the hack-saw……

