I have been learning, or at least, trying to learn how to effectively cut seats for stones the last couple of days.  It is definitely more art than science.  The burrs I have are not exactly the size of the stones I am working with.  But the stones aren’t calibrated either, so it is as much their fault as the burrs.  But I am working on it.  Missy set one stone fully to show me how.  The two “complete” holes that I have worked on today are not right.  The test stone sits funky in both holes and I am trying to figure that one out.  They tell me this is one of the more difficult methods of setting stones, so it is kind of a “trial by fire” (not unlike The Tool from HELL).  I am still trying to get the hang of pushing beads properly as well.  Practice and Practice and more Practice……..

I am including a couple of pictures of a pair of colored CZ’s set in silver for example purposes.  One of them is bead-set and one is gypsy-set.  Gypsy settings are probably what I will focus on from a hilt perspective. 

My silver bowl came today.  I got a good deal on it.  It is nearly 16 t.oz’s of sterling silver.  I shouldn’t have to buy silver again for quite a while. 

I may actually get to go to the Renne Faire this weekend.  Monna got us discounted tickets.  Woo Hoo!!!…..

