Missy suggested that I go ahead and dive into bead setting today.  Several of the designs that I have been working on in wax are oriented at stone set final drafts.  They tell me that I will experience the “I am going to pull my hair out” sort of frustration with this.  Apparently that is par for the course.  Luckily, I don’t have any hair to pull out….aside from my trailer fu ‘stache…….

I spent the afternoon laying out the first exercise on a piece of copper.  I also got to watch a somewhat dull video demo and then watch Bill do it for real.  The basic concept is that you take a graver and push a bead of metal up over the top of the girdle of the stone and do that all the way around said stone in order to hold it down.  Bill says once I get the process down, I will be able to set a stone in less than a minute.  I have no idea how long it will take to get THAT good at this.  I know this will be challenging but it is a key part of what I want to do with myself.  I have also been scouring the net and anywhere else I can find for ideas and inspiration.  I have some ideas for rings that I am looking forward to dragging into the real world.  More on that story as it develops.  I included pictures of the copper plate and some close-ups of beads that Bill pushed up to show me how. 

