I made back to Stoughton just fine.  I had car-lag though for more than a day.  Not as severe as jet-lag but still significant…..

I did manage to organize most of my school related paperwork.  I also managed to find about 50 more pictures that I would like to take a swing at engraving.  I was looking at Steve Lindsey’s site the other night.  His powered graver set up is quite awesome (it’s also 2000 dollars, which is why I don’t have one yet).  I have spent the last couple of days working on a signet project.  The graded project is a signet that is engraved and cut out and then soldered to the top of a ring.  I decided on a letter style and drew it up the right size.  I am also working on a wax mold in the same vein.  That has been a topsy turvy rollercoaster.  I am having trouble getting all the various sides to line up with each other.  I also accidently reamed the hole out too much, so I went back and melted some wax back on to the shank.  I will have to file that down to the correct spot at some point.  I am now in the process of shaping the top of the ring and blending it into the rest of the piece.  It’s a work in progress.  I’m not sure when the stone-setting thing is gonna take place, but it is on the horizon.  I was glad to hear that they hadn’t gone back to the forge so I didn’t miss anything in the damascus department. 

