Hello All

I arrived one week ago (and have not had internet access till now).  I am sitting in the office of the Howard Academy typing on my swanky new laptop.  Things are going mostly well.  I have had a few minor problems but they seem to be well in hand.  One of those is my TN drivers licens is expired and I some how managed to not notice that till I got here.  So I am jumping through the hoops to get a Wisconsin DL and one of those is proving that I live here.  Apparently a signed and dated lease IS NOT sufficient evidence that I am a resident…..oh well.  Angela (the very helpful office manager here at Howard) has been helping me with that.  She said that they are expecting my tools any day now and I should be ready to get to work on monday which is the day I am scheduled to start.  I haven’t taken pictures of the apartment yet….it is still kind of a work in progress but I am happy with it.  I do have a giant mountain of used cardboard that I need to figure out what to do with. 

The weather so far hasn’t been terrible.  Some snow here and there and temperatures in the high teens to low thirtys, which is completely tolerable.  I had to get a brand new skype account, kind of irritating.  I have been having the worst luck with passwords and such since I got here, but nothing I won’t get over.  My southern accent apparently is more pronounced than I would think and they tell me I stand out like a sore thumb.

I am very excited to be here and while it is a little scary here at the beginning, I think this is going to be an amazing experience.

More to come soon…

